COVID-19 Updates    Mayor's Blog   
Finance committee elects new deputy chairperson and whip

Date: 2023-03-23 12:34:28

Finance committee elects new deputy chairperson and whip

Mayor Mxolisi Kaunda (middle) flanked by Councillor Sfiso Mkhize and Councillor Mthokozisi Gasa.

FOLLOWING the reconfiguration of Municipal portfolio committees, the Finance Committee elected a new Deputy Chairperson and Whip of Committee during a Committee sitting at the Durban City Hall today, 22 March.

Councillor Sfiso Mngadi from the ANC is the new Deputy Chairperson. Councillor Mthokozisi Gasa was elected as the new Whip of the Committee. The reconfiguration of portfolio committees saw Councillor Nolubabalo Zondi being redeployed as the Chairperson of the Ethics Committee while Councillor Sinegugu Sishange was elected as Chief Whip of Council which resulted in the vacant positions.

​​​​​​​EThekwini Mayor Councillor Mxolisi Kaunda congratulated Councillor Mngadi and Councillor Gasa on their new positions. Mayor Kaunda, who is also the Chairperson of the Finance Committee, said: “A solid foundation has been laid by their predecessors. We hope that their experience in local government will assist the Committee in continuing to execute its oversight responsibility of ensuring the Municipality is operating with the financial resources it needs to provide programmes and services to the community.” The Committee also welcomed the appointment of Smilo Mbongwa as the Acting Head of the Supply Chain Management Unit.